New Delhi: The lockdown imposed last year during the deadly corona virus in the country had a very bad effect on the liquor business. Many states opened liquor shops after a few days saying that this is affecting their revenue. Even in the capital Delhi, VAT on liquor was also increased during the lockdown. There are different laws regarding alcohol in every state of the country. The government talks of one nation one policy in the country, but it is not so in the case of alcohol.

Liquor is banned in these 4 states

    • Bihar
    • Gujarat
    • Nagaland
    • Mizoram

These seven states do home delivery

    • Chhattisgarh
    • Maharashtra
    • Karnataka
    • Punjab
    • Jharkhand
    • Odisha
    • and now Delhi

These states imposed a ban, but the treasury became empty

States like Haryana, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Lakshadweep, Karnataka had also banned liquor, but saying that the revenue was low, they again lifted the ban on liquor.

    • Haryana banned liquor in the year 1996, but lifted the ban in 1998.
    • Andhra Pradesh banned liquor in 1994, but lifted the ban in 1997.
    • Kerala banned liquor in the year 2014, but in 2015 the Supreme Court reversed the decision.

It is clear that one nation one policy is not being followed in the country regarding alcohol. Somewhere liquor is banned and somewhere it is being delivered from house to house. Experts say that after the implementation of GST in the country, the revenue from liquor became more important for the state governments.

What are the provisions in the constitution regarding alcohol?

Article 47 of the Indian Constitution mentions a ban on alcoholic beverages ie drinks (such as alcohol, beer) injurious to health. Although this article does not directly ask to ban alcohol, but it does say that the government can try to ban it. Not only this, the government cannot be compelled to implement it.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *